Sofia Jen Ouyang (b.2001) is a composer interested in the intersection and collision of varying artistic expressions, fusing musical, literary, and philosophical concepts into her works. 
Sofia is currently pursuing her undergraduate degrees in Music and Philosophy at Columbia University, and studies with Andrew Norman at The Juilliard School as part of the Columbia-Juilliard exchange program. Past mentors include David Serkin Ludwig and Claire Chase. Sofia is a 2021 Blueprint composer fellow with National Sawdust, a recipient of the 2022 Gena Raps Piano Chamber Music Prize, and has received honors from The American Prize (2022), BMI Student Composer Award (2021), Society of Composers Inc., Luna Lab (2020), and the National Young Composer Challenge (2019).  Sofia’s solo cello work ‘Liminal/ity’ was selected for the Society of Composers, Inc. 2021 National Student Conference, and is currently working on a commission for the New York Virtuoso Singers. 
Central to her thinking are concepts, in no particular order, including: ideologies, binaries, ambiguities, indeterminacies, philosophies, literary theories, physicality, noise, gender, culture, sexuality, sound, paradigms, hybridity, distortions, liminalities. 
Her works have been performed by the JACK Quartet, violinist Juliette Kang, vocalist Brittany Hewitt, National Sawdust Ensemble, clarinetist Stanislav Chernyshev, cellist Jeffrey Zeigler, pianist Cornelia Herrmann, percussionist Sae Hashimoto, and flutist Isabel Gleicher, among others.

Sofia has had the honor to work with composers including Du Yun, Dmitri Tymoczko, Anne Gosfield, Amy Beth Kirsten, Claire Chase, Nina Young, Amy Williams, Daniel Ott, Wang Jie, Jennifer Higdon, and Reiko Füeting.

DSCF4621 2.jpeg